Ensemble 360

Emmanuel Church, Barnsley
Friday 12 November 2021, 7.30pm

Tickets: £13.50
£6 Under 26s & Unemployed

Past Event

SAINT-SAËNS Oboe Sonata (11′)
JÁNAČEK Violin Sonata (17′)
BRAHMS Cello Sonata in F (28′)
MARTINŮ Oboe Quartet (12′)

Ensemble 360 returns with a kaleidoscopic programme. We open with Saint-Saëns’ contemplative and conversational duo for oboe and piano, marking the centenary of the composer’s death, which ripples with the rich, evocative contrasting sounds of this instrumental pairing.

Jánaček’s high-wire act of a violin sonata is delicately chromatic, monumental in scope and shot through with a wistful melancholy. Brahms’s cello sonata is a work of brooding intensity that works through fire and storm to its glowing conclusion. By turns angular and lyrical, Martinů’s dense quartet brings together all four instruments for a thrilling finale to this showcase of chamber music.

Download the concert programme notes