Ensemble 360

Cast, Doncaster
Saturday 12 October 2024, 7.15pm


£13 (Under 26s)

*Box office charges may apply

Book Tickets

A celebration of JS Bach’s much-loved music for solo violin and a chance to enjoy some of the most beautiful works ever written for the instrument.

Programme includes:


Sonata No.1 in G minor (18’)
Partita No.1 in B minor (28’)

BACH Johann Sebastian, Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin

Bach’s Sonatas and Partitas for solo violin were composed at Cöthen in 1720 (the date on Bach’s beautifully written fair copy of the set), at about the same time as his Cello Suites. The three Sonatas follow the pattern of the sonata da chiesa, with four movements, alternating slow and fast, while the three Partitas are suites of dances. Even though they were not published until 1802, Bach’s contemporaries recognized his superlative achievement in these pieces. Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach wrote that his father ‘understood to perfection the possibilities of all stringed instruments. This is evidenced by his solos for the violin and violoncello without bass. One of the greatest violinists once told me that he had seen nothing more perfect for learning to be a good violinist.’ Which violinist Bach may have had in mind when he first wrote the pieces remains unknown. 

© Nigel Simeone