Live-stream: YORK BOWEN, FINZI & BAX

Ensemble 360

Premiered at 1.00pm on Friday 14 May
Online event
This Was Available Until 31 May 2021

Please donate as you feel; every single gift makes a difference.


Tell us what you think by completing our survey


Live from the Crucible Studio

YORK BOWEN Oboe Sonata (16’)
FINZI Interlude for Oboe and String Quartet (12’)
BAX Oboe Quintet (17’)

An English programme of 20th century works for oboe.

English pianist and composer York Bowen wrote a chromatic and highly melodic sonata that elegantly pairs piano and oboe in languid dialogue. Finzi’s interlude for string quartet and oboe is resonant and evocative: full of tension and uneasy beauty. To finish, Bax’s Oboe Quintet is a study in mischief and melancholy, with expressive solos for both violin and oboe resolving in a folk-inspired, jig-like finale.

Please donate as you feel: every single gift makes a difference.

Text SCMF 20 to 70085 to give £20
Text SCMF 10 to 70085 to give £10
Text SCMF 5 to 70085 to give £5

Text costs the amount you donate plus one standard rate message.

Download the concert programme notes


You May Also Like...